Freude am Sehen

In ancient times

In ancient times and 2000 years ago in China, eyeglasses were already "fashionable". However, they were first used to improve vision in Arabia in the 11th century until they came to Europe via Venice by the end of the 13th century.

In 1900

The first attempts to remedy visual impairments directly on the cornea took place around one hundred years ago. But even in the 50s, manual corrections still went wrong, such as in Japan.

In 1970

It wasn't until the 70s that the Russian professor Fjodorow managed to correct nearsightedness using radially applied incisions called "radial keratotomy". The disadvantages of this widespread method were deep scarring as well as reduced stability and resilience of the cornea.

In New York, June 1983

Photorefractive corneal surgery is born and soon begins its triumphal progress around the world. Today, farsightedness, nearsightedness and corneal irregularities can be treated with the excimer laser technique successfully. Millions of patients around the world have already undergone this treatment. Moreover, scars that have formed on the cornea due to external influence and have a considerably effect on eyesight can virtually be "rubbed out" with the laser.

Dr. Stammbuck
Ophthalmology Practices

Schwyz:
Herrengasse 15
CH-6430 Schwyz
Phone +41 810 41 41
Fax +41 810 41 43
info@ichsehe.ch

Unterägeri:
Zugerstrasse 40
CH-6314 Unterägeri
Phone +41 811 71 72
Fax +41 750 10 90
info@ichsehe.ch

Consultation hours per prior arrangement by telephone

Freude am Sehen

Antike

Die Brille war in der Antike und in China schon vor 2000 Jahren »Mode« geworden. Zum besseren Sehen wurde sie erst im Arabien des 11. Jahrhunderts benutzt, bis sie Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts über Venedig nach Europa kam.

1900

Erste Versuche, Sehschwächen direkt an der Hornhaut zu beheben, fanden vor etwa hundert Jahren statt. Aber noch in den 50er Jahren schlugen manuelle Korrekturen fehl, wie etwa in Japan.

1970

Erst Anfang der 70er Jahre gelang dem russischen Professor Fjodorow die Korrektur der Kurzsichtigkeit mittels radial angelegter Einschnitte- »radiäre Keratotomie« genannt. Die Nachteile dieser weit verbreiteten Methode: tiefe Narbenbildung und verminderte Stabilität und Belastbarkeit der Hornhaut.

New York, im Juni 1983

Die photorefraktive Hornhautchirurgie wird geboren und tritt schon bald ihren Siegeszug um die Welt an. Heute lassen sich mit der Excimer-Lasertechnik Weitsichtigkeit, Kurzsichtigkeit und Hornhautverkrümmung erfolgreich korrigieren. Schon mehrere Millionen Patienten haben sich weltweit für diese Behandlung entschieden. Ferner lassen sich Narben, die durch Fremdeinwirkung auf der Hornhaut entstanden sind und die Sehkraft erheblich beeinträchtigen, mit dem Laser quasi »ausradieren«.

Augenarztpraxen
Dr. Stammbuck

Schwyz:
Herrengasse 15
CH-6430 Schwyz
fon 041 810 41 41
fax 041 810 41 43
info@ichsehe.ch

Unterägeri:
Zugerstrasse 40
CH-6314 Unterägeri
fon 041 811 71 72
fax 041 750 10 90
info@ichsehe.ch

Sprechstunden nach telefonischer Vereinbarung